Free Admission Every Day
Open Tue - Sat 10 AM - 5 PM

AMA Teen Art Board

Teen Art Board works to reach teens through art

Albany Museum of Art Teen Art Board (TAB) is a leadership program that consists of hardworking, creative teenagers who want to engage with art in their community.

Applications are now being accepted for the 2024-25 school year AMA Teen Art Board. The deadline to apply has been extended to Wednesday, July 17. You can find the application HERE.

The goal and mission of the Teen Art Board are to inspire creativity while having fun and making a positive impact on the community. TAB members aim to define and validate creative minds in the high schools and colleges of Southwest Georgia.

To be eligible to be on the 2024-25 Teen Art Board, a student must:

  • Be a high school student during the 2024-25 school year;
  • Be highly motivated and passionate about art and developing community projects;
  • Commit to attending meetings (now scheduled for the first Tuesday of the month at 5:15 pm) during the term;
  • Commit to actively engage and assist in conducting events at the museum.

For the 2023-24, Brianna McCoy, a Dougherty High School junior, is president, and Dontrell Martin, a DHS sophomore, is vice president. Serving on the board’s Executive Committee are Maddi Johnson, a Deerfield Windsor School junior; Carson Sizemore, a DWS senior, and Jeremiah Sleighmon, a Georgia Connection Academy freshman.

Joining them on the board are Jayla Julion Carmichael, junior, DHS; Samantha Collins, senior, Lee County High School; Catibrie Gilbert, senior, LCHS; Iman Alora Hakima, freshman, homeschool; Cora Pearl James, junior, Byne Christian School; Na’Eilah Kennedy, sophomore, Westover High School; Alyia Nurbhai, sophomore, DWS; Laila Seay, freshman, Monroe High School; Wade Singleton, junior, DWS; Kaitlyn Sokolowski, junior, homeschool; Anna Marie Stevenson, junior, Terrell Academy; Precious Thomas, junior, Baconton Community Charter School; Marissa Williams, junior, WHS, and Margo Wulf, sophomore, DWS.

Each member gains a behind-the-scenes understanding of how museums operate. Through workshops, lectures, and discussions with staff and artists, this program enhances TAB members’ foundational knowledge of art history, museum work, creative careers, as well as the inner workings of a board-led nonprofit organization.

TAB members develop creative programming and coordinate community events. They plan, support, and promote teen initiatives at the AMA and within the community. They attend and participate in lectures, group discussions, and artist workshops and serve as volunteers assisting with museum classes, public events, and community programs. Members can gain community service hours by volunteering and engaging with events and programs.

Reach out to AMA Director of Education & Public Programming Annie Vanoteghem HERE for more information.

Members of the Teen Art Board are shown in the AMA lobby.
Front row (L-R): Brianna McCoy, junior, Dougherty High School, and Catibrie Gilbert, senior, Lee County High School. Standing (L-R): Anna Marie Stevenson, junior, Terrell Academy; Margo Wulf, sophomore, Deerfield-Windsor School; Chas Jackson, junior, Georgia Cyber Academy; Jeremiah Sleighmon, freshman, Georgia Connection Academy; Iman Alora Hakima, freshman, Homeschool; Cora Pearl James, junior, Byne Christian School; Alyia Nurbhai, sophomore, DWS; Samantha Collins, senior, LCHS; Carson Sizemore, senior, DWS; Marissa Williams, junior, Westover High School; Kaitlyn Sokolowski, junior, Homeschool, and Maddi Johnson, junior, DWS. Not pictured: Dontrell Martin, junior, DHS; Precious Thomas, junior, Baconton Community Charter School; Na'Eilah Kennedy, sophomore, WHS: Jayla Julion Carmichael, junior, DHS, and Laila Seay, freshman, Monroe High School, and Wade Singleton, juniot, DWS.
Four Teen Art Board officers stand in front of the desk in the AMA lobby.
Teen Art Board officers for 2023-24 are (L-R) Jeremiah Sleighman, executive committee; Brianna McCoy, president; Carson Sizemore, executive committee, and Maddie Johnson, executive committee. Dontrell Martin is vice president.